College Football’s Post-Season Future

Unveiling the 100th Rose Bowl Game logo and trophy weren’t the only big announcements that took place during the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) meetings in Pasadena this April. Additional information about the future of college football and the new playoff system were also revealed, providing insight into what’s in store for the sport that so many people love.

Beginning with the 2014-15 season, the name of the new postseason format will be the “College Football Playoff.”  It will feature the top four teams as chosen by a yet-to-be-named selection committee. The Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl will host the first national semifinals, which will pair No. 1 against No. 4, and No. 2 against No. 3 on January 1, 2015. The winners of these two games will face off in the first championship game of the new playoff era on Monday, January 12, 2015, at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

In addition, Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff, announced that the Fiesta Bowl, Cotton Bowl and Chick-fil-A Bowl will be part of the six-bowl rotation (along with the Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl and Orange Bowl) that will host the College Football Playoff. Each bowl will host a national semifinal once every three years, with the Orange Bowl and Cotton Bowl hosting in 2016, and the Chick-fil-A Bowl and Fiesta Bowl hosting in 2017. The national championship game will be held in a different U.S. city each year.

During the April meetings, the College Football Playoff also launched an online contest to determine its official logo. The ‘Gold Football’ design was the clear winner among four options offered, receiving 101,670 votes from fans, student-athletes, coaches and reporters. That represented 38% of all votes cast.

Football fans: what do you think of the new playoff format?

facebooktwitterpinterestmailby feather